[Proposal] Nexus Mutual - Shield Mining

Hi All,

I notice that there is no further cover available on Nexus Mutual for Balancer. Nexus have a mechanism called “Shield Mining” (Shield Mining - Nexus Mutual) for incentivising their Risk Assessors to stake against preferred projects. These preferred projects put a predetermined quantity of their native tokens up as reward for providing extra cover capacity for the project, so in our case, we would need to identify probably a fairly significant quantity of BAL to offer as a reward.

As I understand it, most projects that offer shield mining tend to keep quite a lot of the funds staked against the project even once the shield incentives have been fully mined.

I suspect there is a great deal to be discussed around this matter and I am by no means an expert here, just an interested party.

I have compiled my thoughts and experiences to argue my position:

1. Balancer has been listed on Nexus Mutual for a while now, I have personally purchased cover for my Balancer Pools and this has helped me sleep better.

2. Nexus Mutual has recently paid out on some 14 cover claims relating to the Yearn Finance yDAI Vault hack, so we can be confident that the Mutual is operating as it says it will (Nexus Mutual Tracker).

3. Incomplete polling results for “Increasing AAVE capTier” indicates we should expect the vote to pass. I would argue that in turn, we should expect more AAVE liquidity to follow.

4. With increased liquidity, we should consider the importance of ensuring more cover capacity; Is it feasible that Balancer will attract less liquidity in the long run if there is insufficient cover capacity available right now?

5. The introduction of shield mining has essentially given us a new “Tool” for promoting Balancer and attracting more liquidity. We should begin thinking about different ways we may implement this tool.